How Much Does a Lawyer Charge After a Car Accident?
If you were badly injured in a car accident that was clearly the other driver’s fault, you have probably been advised by family and friends to hire a personal injury attorney. Unfortunately, because of your injuries, you can’t work, you can’t pay your medical and other bills — so where are you going to find the money to hire an attorney? Maybe you should just cut your losses and accept the settlement offered by the insurance?
This would be a big mistake. For one thing, that settlement the insurance company is offering likely only pays a small fraction of the total cost of the damages you suffered in the accident. Second, as far as lawyers’ fees, it should cost you nothing out of your pocket to hire a New Orleans car accident attorney to represent you.
The Contingency Fee Helps Accident Victims Get Legal Representation
Nobody works for free, and that includes personal injury attorneys. However, they are sympathetic to the financial challenges most of their clients face as a result of being unable to work after an accident. Since they are unable to afford their services, personal injury attorneys offer their clients a unique payment method that doesn’t involve any upfront fees or charges.
Unlike criminal defense attorneys, who charge an upfront cash retainer fee to secure their services, most personal injury lawyers choose to handle their cases on what’s called a contingency basis. They don’t charge an upfront fee for their representation. Instead, they accept a case with the stipulation that they receive a percentage of the compensation they obtain for their clients through a settlement or jury verdict.
What Percentage of Compensation Does a Lawyer Charge after a Car Accident?
What percentage of the settlement does a personal injury lawyer charge after a car accident? This varies from case to case. Contingency fees can range from 25 to 40 percent, though they generally tend to be about 33 percent or one-third of the final settlement. The wider the scope of the case (for instance, if the case goes to court), the higher the percentage will be. Louisiana state law prevents attorneys from charging excessive contingency fees.
Speak to A New Orleans Auto Accident Attorney About Your Case
If you’ve been injured in a car accident in New Orleans or Southern Louisiana, JJC Law is here to help. We want to ensure you get the total compensation for the damages caused by the careless actions of another driver, including medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Contact the offices of JJC Law or call us at 504-513-8820 to schedule a free initial consultation with a New Orleans personal injury attorney to discuss your case. We’re here to answer every legal question you have and provide helpful professional advice on the best way to move forward with your personal injury claim. We handle New Orleans car accident cases on a contingency basis.