Protect Yourself Against An Accident With an Uninsured/Underinsured Driver in Louisiana
Louisiana law requires drivers to have a certain level of liability insurance coverage for each vehicle they own. In the event of an accident, this liability insurance pays for property damage or personal injuries for which the driver may be legally responsible.
In Louisiana, drivers must have at least “15/30/25” liability coverage for each vehicle they own:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 coverage for damage to someone else’s vehicle or other property
Driving Without Insurance or Without Adequate Amounts of Insurance Is Against the Law in Louisiana
Driving without insurance is against the law in Louisiana. Still, this doesn’t stop people from driving without insurance. What happens when you’re injured in an auto accident that was caused by an uninsured driver? Or you are injured by a motorist whose insurance policy doesn’t fully cover the cost of your injuries? There’s a good chance you may have to pay all or most of the damages out of your own pocket — unless you take steps to protect yourself.
In addition to property damage, car accidents in Louisiana often result in serious personal injuries that can include:
- Broken bones
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Head, neck, and back injuries
- Internal injuries
- Severe Burns
Medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering are some of the damages victims incur after being injured in a car accident. These can quickly add up to much more than the minimum coverage limits of a Louisiana auto insurance policy.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Louisiana
One of the ways you can protect yourself is by adding uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to your insurance policy. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage provides benefits for any personal injuries or property damage resulting from an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance can also protect you in instances where you are injured in a hit-and-run accident and are unable to identify the other driver.
Know Your Options: Speak With a New Orleans Car Accident Attorney About Your Accident
If you’ve been injured in an accident with an uninsured/underinsured driver in Louisiana, it would be a good idea to consult with a personal injury attorney to discuss your case. In some instances, a third party may share responsibility for your accident-related injuries.
JJC Law has represented clients all over Louisiana who have been injured in a car accident caused by the careless actions of another driver. We’re dedicated to recovering the total compensation our clients are due for their injuries.
Contact JJC Law by email at firstname.lastname@example.org, by filling out a claim online at www.jjclaw.com or call us at (504) 513-8820 to schedule a free, no-obligation initial consultation. Our experienced New Orleans car accident lawyers will review your case, answer all legal questions you may have, and provide professional advice on the best way to proceed with your personal injury claim. Most of our personal injury cases are handled on a contingency basis, which means there are no upfront costs if we decide to represent you in your case — we collect our fee as a percentage of your settlement.